Local Politics

Elections are coming.

I was standing in the commuter line a few weeks ago and a man approached me. Normally when that happens I back away. Establish distance. Plot the geometries and escape routes and weigh the capabilities of the other guy. Can I outrun him? Can I take a hit and survive? Is he carrying? How close am I going to let him get before I act? If I flee, will he just select another victim?

As he got closer, he stuck out his hand and offered me a glossy printed card advertising a candidate for an upcoming election. He was himself that candidate. He was running for the county Clerk of the Court. I told him, “no thank you, I am not interested”. He responded, “you don’t vote”? With a mild sneer on his face.

“No”, I replied. “I simply don’t care who the County Clerk of the Court is”.

The look on his face was telling. You would have thought I just showed him that he was living on the Holodeck and he wasn’t really here.

Since then, I have looked around for information on the country clerk’s duties and authorities. I have found NOTHING to cause me to care who gets this office. It is, as far as I can tell, a purely bureaucratic position, without any legislative or management authority. The Clerk is just another county employee. All of his/her assigned duties could be done by anyone who is in that office.

If you believe otherwise, I am all ears. I would love to be proven wrong about this and become educated about this important aspect of local politics.

About No One

I am totally non-threatening
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Local Politics

  1. Old NFO says:

    I doubt that you would be… Bureaucracy is ALL it is…

    Like

  2. Slick Willy says:

    Well,,, in Texas the position has some limited authority. My sister in law came up through the ranks in the County Clerk’s office in a mid sided town, and now serves as the County clerk. Which judge gets your case and when can vastly impact your life outcome, and these abused and put upon folks decide that (nominally using blind process and a calendar)

    But like most things government related, petty feelings and slights do impact that process. Connections and plain old good manners also mitigate at times, so I guess this is just the way it is.

    As to the assigned duties comment, you are correct. The actual elected official has non elected employees who actually do the work. The elected official is there to be responsible to the voters, and not much else.

    My two cents

    Like

    • No One says:

      Willy,
      Thanks for chipping in. I am very infuriated by any process in a civilized country whereby the guilt or innicence of the accused is determined by luck, connections, or good manners. I would be happy with a computer examining the evidence and scheduling the court resources for best efficiency and judges woul cannot be trusted to try MY case should not be trying ANY case.

      Like

Leave a Reply

