Arts and Crafts: Kitchen, finishing touches.

So. After procrastinating for a while, I knuckled down and finished the trim in the new kitchen. So here you can see the undercounter lighting, using LED strips, tile backsplash, and cove trim on top.

Undercounter lighting is remote controlled and color selectable for mood lighting. It’s plugged into one of the outlets I put inside the cabinets.

Add that to moving the electrical outlets to the cabinet undersides. This had the advantage of not needing to cut the tiles to go around the backsplash.

Of course, that means I lose some inside cabinet space, but with adjustable shelves, it’s reasonable.

Finishing the cove trim was a pain. Getting rounded edges to match up takes a little effort. I wasted several feet of the materials getting the corners to fit right.

The backsplash is alternating pieces of marble and aluminum. I used my wet tile saw to cut them. This type of tile comes in preset patterns in 12″×12″ squares with a fabric mesh backing. The mesh backing cannot be cut on a wet saw because it bunches up and the marble and aluminum pieces get pulled out of alignment. So for the edges, I have to pull off the tile pieces and cut them one at a time. Topped it off with some Schlutter plastic edging.

About No One

I am totally non-threatening
This entry was posted in Arts and crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arts and Crafts: Kitchen, finishing touches.

  1. blueinfantry says:

    Looks good! Nice work.

    Like

Leave a comment