Range Issues

I Had a pretty good day at the range yesterday except for a few odd issues.

Issue #1:  I am only minimally annoyed by this issue so don’t make a big deal out of it.  i took two rifles to the range.  As is the case, they fit in the same case with muzzles pointing in opposite directions.  I lay the case on the floor and open it.  I reach into the case and grab the weapon that is facing the wrong direction and face it the right direction.  I am immediately swooped on by the range safety Dude for pointing the weapon the wrong way.  Guys, I know that you have those rules for a reason.  I also know you have to have mindless and slavish devotion to those rules, because, let’s face it, people are idiots.  And in your defense, you can’t possibly know if I am an idiot.  But seriously.  That’s how they fit in the case.  I have been transporting them to ranges for years this same way and everyone else accepted that I was safely handling them.  So, anyway, there it is.  For the record, I didn’t argue with the guy and trying to ague with someone wearing hearing protection is pretty pointless in any case.  The guy suggested that i take out the gun that was facing the right way, then turn the case around and extract the other gun.  as if being in contact with the case gives it some extra level of safety.  I don’t expect any advice here.  Just venting.  If I had my way, I would do all my shooting on private land (either my own or a friend’s (if I had any friends)).  I would still be safe, but not have to put up with other people’s bureaucratic devotion to rules.

Issue #2:  First in the lineup was pistol shooting.  I was shooting my Colt Gold Cup 1911.  The recoil was much more lively than I was used to.  This was a new set of loads.  I examined some of the ejecting brass and saw this pattern:

Scorching on the upper half and a distinctive pock mark about half way up the side of the casing.  I had not had these on any previous loads.   I was shooting 200gr SWC, plated, and 8.0 gr of Power Pistol.  According to my load book, that’s on the high end, but still within the acceptable range.

This causes me to want to disassemble a sample of the remaining ammo and remeasure the powder to see if the loads are hotter than I intended.  I stopped using this after only one mag because of the issues.

Internet lore claims a possible culprit is an extractor or ejector not doing its job and needing tweeking.  It never needed it before.  So perhaps there is some wear and tear going on, or perhaps this only shows itself with more energetic loads.

 

Any ideas?

 

About No One

I am totally non-threatening
This entry was posted in Guns. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Range Issues

  1. Heresolong says:

    How many rounds through the gun? I also have heard that extractors need replacing or adjusting periodically. I’d go over to 1911forum.com for more info.

    Like

Leave a Reply

