Game and the On-Off Switch

In the popular old SCI-Fi series Star Trek: The Next Generation, there is a character called Data, who is an android.  As an android, he gets into all sorts of trouble and if I were in charge of the Enterprise, I would have expelled him from the ship long ago.  His ability to change passwords at lightning fast speeds does not make up for his defective programming.  As a created artifact, he also has an on-off switch on his back.  In one episode, he reveals the switch to his engineer/doctor/friend and remarks, “if you had an on/off switch, would you want anyone knowing about it”?

This brings me to the discussion of Game, that esoteric theory of interpersonal relationships that claims women have certain biological predispositions and that if you know those predispositions, you can exploit them.  It is like knowing where a woman’s on-off switch is.

I personally don’t have any interest in practicing this form of manipulation myself nor do I think unkindly of people who do it or the women who fall for it.  I care about it because I am keenly interested in human relationships and how people interact with each other to accomplish their goals.  Having read about this theory, I am further interested in it because I have an adult daughter.  If she does have an on-off switch, I would want her to know that and know how to shield it from manipulation.

In our society, that on-off switch used to be shielded by society itself.  Men and women had certain places and roles into which they could congregate.  There were boundaries and supervision. There were rules of behavior and decorum. Those are all ways of guarding the on-off switch.  There is a lot less of that today than in the past.  Too many women openly broadcast the location of their on-off switch and invite strangers to play with it.

But I did tell my daughter about Game and its basic theory so that she will be forewarned when a guy tries one of the more obvious tactics.

About No One

I am totally non-threatening
This entry was posted in Education, Women. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Game and the On-Off Switch

  1. blueinfantry says:

    Well stated, Good Sir…

    I miss the days when there was at least some semblance of mutual respect in interpersonal relationships.

    I have 3 sons. I don’t know if I could have raised a daughter properly, though she could have been a friend to my wife. I have a 10 year old granddaughter whom I love more than life. My wife and my granddaughter are the greatest of buddies. It works well for them. I hope and pray that no one ever tries to hurt my granddaughter.

    Like

    • No One says:

      That’s what male relatives are for. I imagine there will be a whole lot of younger men who never learned that rule and will have the lesson taught the hard way.

      Like

  2. Heresolong says:

    Isn’t game, in its less predatory form, another way of saying “making yourself attractive to the opposite sex”?

    Like

    • No One says:

      I don’t count that part, since it is also an element or all the other theories of male-female dynamics. Nor do I see game as “predatory”. in the most clinical way, it is a method by which men are encouraged to gain and maintain a woman of a higher quality than he otherwise deserves, and it describes the terms of “merit” in terms of biological and evolutionary codes. I personally believe, perhaps wrongly, that higher forms of humanity are above that sort of thinking and certainly lower forms of humanity have bypassed it completely with arranged marriages for thousands of years.

      Like

  3. Ame says:

    you’re a great Dad; what an irreplaceable gift you are to your daughter. it’s a bit scary for me having two daughters transitioning over to adulthood.

    – – –

    my first husband loved the character Data and always wanted to be like him. hummm …

    Like

  4. Og says:

    I expect your daughter can take pretty good care of herself. She’s more aware than you probably give her credit for. And there’s no question where she learned it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

