Gun Safety

Tam has a few words to say about gun safety.  She doesn’t allow comments, but you can’t stop the signal, Tam.

…”All guns are always loaded.” It’s a target for the ire of everybody with the slightest hint of Aspie tendencies…

OUCH!  That’s going to leave a mark.

I am also fanatical about gun safety.  But differently fanatical.  If you want to keep your gun out of the reach of children, then you obviously need a holster that is on top of your shoulder.  I agree with the rules, I just want them worded in language that doesn’t insult my intelligence.

Speaking of safety.  The Army is bat-shit crazy about this.  When I was in Iraq, we had mandatory procedures for everyone (except special people), requiring us to clear our weapons whenever we entered the camp (FOB).  There were big clearing barrels or burms there and huge posters reminding us how to do it, in case we forgot.  One day, I got out of my vehicle to buddy team clearing weapons with a passenger who rode with us.  I didn’t know him.  He is carrying an M249 SAW.  Step one:  Point the weapon into the clearing barrel. Step 2: Pull the trigger.

WTF???  Dude!  On what Planet is “pull the trigger” the first thing you think of when clearing a weapon?.

Fortunately, SOME weapons are not always loaded.

 

About No One

I am totally non-threatening
This entry was posted in Guns. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gun Safety

  1. Heresolong says:

    Thanks. Just sprayed coffee out my nose.

    Like

  2. Og says:

    The Four Rules that you hate so much are there for the benefit of people not as smart as you. Nothing and nobody is perfect.

    Like

    • No One says:

      I don’t hate them. I just want them written better. I also find it amusing that people who cling to a desire for properly worded and logically factual rules are being “aspie”, but those who cling to the opposite aren’t just as “aspie ” about their position.

      Like

  3. Og says:

    Everybody is batshit crazy. I hope you’re not just now figuring this out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

