Range report

Bless me father for I have sinned.  Despite my annual membership fees It has been over a year since my last long range confession.

I managed to get my lazy ass out of bed on a saturday morning and get out to quantico shooting club before the good lanes were taken.

It was a glorious day.  80 degrees. Low humidity. Sunshine.  Shooting into a light steady breeze. 
image

The first rifle is my precision gun. 5.56 made with parts from different companies that I assembled. 24″ barrel. The scope is a 16x Super Sniper by Tasco. Firing from bench rest, bipod on the front and beanbag sock supporting the back.
image

The second rifle in use today is a carbine configuration ar-15. 5.56. 16″ barrel. With Yankee hill can and 4x Trijicon ACOG. fired from bench rest on sandbags and my firing hand elbow on a beanbag sock.
image
This first set of targets was with the long range rifle at 102 yards (laser ranged).

image

Set A: Using gun show special ammo from Georgia arms. 55 grain “noisemakers”. I use this ammo to give to friends to use. Stats: 1″ high/ 2 and 1/4″ diameter.

Set B: Using 69 gr Sierra Match king bullets on home made cartridges. Stats: 1/2″ high and 3/4 ” diameter.

Set C: 55 62gr a max, homemade. 1 and 5/8 high and left. 7/8 ” diameter.

Set D: 69 gr sierra match king made by Federal premium. Store bought. 3/4″ high and 7/8″ diameter.

Set E: 75gr home made. 1/2 low and 2″ diameter.

From this I confirm that my home made ammo is every bit as good as store bought match ammo.

The next groups are switching to the carbine. Still at 100 yards.

Set f uses noisemakers again. All the other sets are using Lake City 62 gr green tip. And I adjusted the scope between G and H/I.
image

The next groups were fired at 325 yards. I’m still aiming at center mass of the circles without adjustments for range. Groups j and k used home made 69 gr sierra match kings. L uses the 55 gr amax and m uses the store bought 69 gr. All had superior small groups at a very predictable 16″ drop from point of aim (13″ for amax). This is about the same as my first mildot in the scope.

image

The last set of groups is a mix. Still at 300 yards. Set n uses the green tip in the precision rifle. Again with no sight compensation. The group strikes 10″ low and 4 and 3/4 ” diameter.
The other strikes on this target were fired with the carbine. The small circles were barely visible in the 4 power sight. I used the bullet drop compensator and green tip ammo. The groups were about 10″ diameter but striking around the center. The bdc was right on for this ammo.

image

About No One

I am totally non-threatening
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Range report

  1. Og says:

    That’s some nice shooting for a tasco scope and homemade ammo. I hate not having a range past 100 yards. I would give at least one tooth to shoot at Quantico.

    Like

    • No One says:

      If you are in the area, be my guest.

      Like

    • No One says:

      Also, When you go looking for teh Super Sniper brand, their web site doesn’t have any mention of Tasco (noted for cheap K-mart quality lenses and binoculars you would buy for a ten year old). The first I saw that name was on the box when it was delivered. But it actually came highly recommended by guys at the range who do a LOT of shooting at long range.

      Like

  2. Old NFO says:

    That is some nice shooting with both rifles, and some nice load work there too!

    Like

  3. patrick kelly says:

    The Tasco SS scopes are made in Japan with better glass than the cheaper Walmart versions, which I think are made in China. I have the 20x on my target setup 5.56 AR. I’ve taken it out to 500m (about 547yds).

    Like

  4. patrick kelly says:

    Which powder? FWIW, My target AR sweet spots for the 69gr sierra are 24.0 IMR 4895, 24.5 Varget, 24.6 RL-15 at about 2.250 COAL, but it has a 1/9 20″ barrel, ymmv.

    Like

  5. Og says:

    I have a tasco on my meat gun. it’s not a horrible scope.

    Like

  6. Og says:

    Just bought a pair of lowers. Gonna do a build over winter. Anderson lower, will probably get matching Anderson upper, Apache armaments barrel. Timney trigger. Any suggestions, or counter suggestions you have, I’d be interested in. I was looking at a 1-8 twist, wylde chamber. Want a long distance rifle. Suggestions welcome.

    Like

    • No One says:

      I am sure you already understand the advantages to a Wylde chamber and the 1-8 twist. I have no recommendations on brand names or other AR-tech.

      Why two? As I recall, you already have one. Since I already have two, My own preference is to build an AR-10 gun with a 20″ heavy barrel, or an engineering breadboard gun so I can try out silly things like constructing a plywood lower receiver, and one out of old beer cans (cans I would have to get from someone else since I would never drink beer from a can).

      Like

  7. Og says:

    Price was right. I may also build one in 458 socom because it’s deer legal in Indiana, even though 30-30, the commonest deer caliber in the nation, is not. I would like to freak someone out by bringing an AR afield.

    Like

  8. patrick kelly says:

    FWIW: I have drank the 6.5 Grendel kool-aid and it is good. With a 1:8 twist 20″ barrel Hornady 123g Amax or SST are supersonic to 1000 yards with good precision, with enough punch to drop medium size game out to 400 to 500 yds. Past 500 yards it starts keeping more energy than .308 with better ballistics coefficient, but I wouldn’t hunt anything larger than a watermelon that far…would probably miss anyway.

    Put a 24″ barrel on it and it’s even better, but larger and heavier. 20″ is a good compromise for me, I rarely shoot longer than 500m.

    If someone made a reasonably priced bolt gun in Grendel I would get one to match the AR. I’ve read about conversions, but by the time you put all the time and money into it you don’t get much for the $$. I think a light hunting rifle in Grendel would be an awesome hunt just a bout anything in North America rig.

    Like

Leave a Reply

